June 2, 2015

Helionox Rules



Helionox Errata and Rule Clarifications – These will be added or updated in the rule book but here are some things that might need clarifying from the original Rule Book.

  1. Start Game – All players begin the game with their ship tokens on the Earth Location (Old World Capital). Alternatively, players may all choose their starting location.
  2. End Game – The game ends at the end of the turn after the last Event is played. This ensures that all players get the same number of turns.
  3. Tie Games – If the game ends in a tie, the player with most cards worth 0 Influence wins the tie. If the game is still tied, the player with the most Embassies wins. If the game is still tied, shake hands and divide the solar system among the victorious players.
  4. Collaboration – Only the Active Player may Call for Collaboration and that player must have at least 1 defense. The Active Player must be at the Location of the Event. All other players involved in the Collaboration must either be at the Location (ship token) or have an Embassy at the Location. The Active Player is in control of the Collaboration so he/she chooses how much defense they will offer and which player or players they will Collaborate with (based on legal targets). Players play cards from their hand following all normal rules of game play (card abilities resolve even for Non Active Players, cards played go to the discard pile at the end of the turn). Only the Active Player draws 5 cards at the end of the turn. Example: The Active Player has 2 Defense and Calls for Collaboration on a 3 cost event. The Non Active Player only has a card that offers 2 defense. The Non Active Player has to decide if they want to contribute to the collaboration or not. If they contribute, the Non Active player will only gain 1 Influence (and draw a card of course). The Non Active Player may make a counter offer, but the Active Player ultimately chooses how the Collaboration will happen. If players cannot agree on terms, the Collaboration fails.
  5. Overcome Events – Influence from Events is claimed immediately after Overcoming. When playing with Missions, place the event in your trophy pile face up so you can see its type. Occasionally, the inactive side of an Event will have a different amount of Influence available than the active side. This is why it’s important to claim influence immediately after Overcoming an event.
  6. Shuffling – Decks are shuffled after being searched for any reason.
  7. Location Bonus / Key Access – This can only be taken once per turn unless granted by a card effect. Once per turn, you may take one Location Bonus or Key Access. However, if you have a card that offers Key Access, you may take a second Key Access but you can never use the same location twice. Also, if a card gives Key Access, this cannot be used for the less powerful location bonus and can usually only be used if the location is not Shut Down.
  8. If able – Some cards use the term “if able”. This simply means “as long as all legal conditions are met”. Usually, this is in reference to Key Access or placing an Embassy. Legal conditions are as follows: your ship must be at the Location, the Location cannot be Shut Down, and (in the case of Key Access) you have not used a Location Ability at that Location.
  9. Movement Tax – Some events require a payment of 3 Credits to leave. This cost is 3 Credits no matter how many movement tax events stack up (<>3). However, any card that lets you leave without paying money is not affected by events.
  10. Card Bonus –  If a card says “players may place an Embassy” those players do not have to pay 2 credits. The same goes for cards that allow players to move when it is not there turn.